Gender & Sexuality Equity Awards

SwanEach year, the Margaret Sloss Women's Center and Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Student Services present individuals with awards and scholarships during the Gender & Sexuality Equity Awards Reception. Awards recognize individuals and groups that have advanced gender and sexuality equity for women, LGBTQIA+ people, and other gender and sexual minorities via leadership, campus involvement, and/or leadership of women, LGBTQIA+ students, adult and non-traditional students, and single parents.

The following scholarships and awards are available for NOMINATIONS and SUBMISSIONS.




Scott Rohlf Presidential Leadership Initiative Award

The Scott Rohlf Presidential Leadership Initiative Award is a scholarship presented annually since 1995 to one student who has demonstrated leadership and involvement in the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, queer, intersex, asexual, etc. (LGBTQIA+) community at Iowa State. The purpose of the scholarship is to complement successful academic experiences by partially supporting student leadership and involvement in the LGBTQIA+ community at Iowa State.

Walter J. Allen and Shaun B. Keister Scholarship

This award is open to undergraduate (sophomores, juniors, and seniors) and graduate students who have demonstrated leadership and involvement in promoting lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, asexual, etc. (LGBTQIA+) student activities and in the promotion of a positive identity for LGBTQIA+ students throughout the University community. 

MSWC Adult Student Scholarship

The Adult Student Scholarship Fund provides adult students at Iowa State with scholarships designed to cover the cost of books and supplies for one semester. Students will not be awarded two consecutive semesters. The amount of the award varies. The scholarship will be awarded through the Office of Student Financial Aid. 

Division of Student Affairs Adult Student Scholarship

The Division of Student Affairs Adult Student Scholarship is awarded to an Iowa State undergraduate student 25 years old or older. Awarded $1,000 each academic year and is renewable for up to four years to adult undergraduate students enrolled part-time or full-time.

The Lee Hadley Scholarship 

Created to honor Lee Hadley, a positive force in the lives of students and in the English Department at Iowa State University for 26 years! This $1,000 scholarship can be renewed upon selection committee approval for four years as the student maintains full-time enrollment and satisfactory progress towards earning their degree. The Lee Hadley Scholarship was also created to motivate and reward adult students striving to reach their dreams!

The Rosenthal Scholarship

Created to motivate and reward single mothers of Iowa striving to reach their dreams! Awarded $1,500 to non-traditional, full-time undergraduate single mothers.


The following awards are bestowed upon individuals to acknowledge their commitment to helping to gain gender and sexuality equity at Iowa State.  The following awards are available for NOMINATIONS and SUBMISSIONS. 

Student of the Year Award

The Student of the Year award recognizes a student that has made significant contributions to the Iowa State community, especially in regards to gender and/or sexual equity and advocacy.

Gender & Sexuality Research Award

The Gender and Sexuality Research Award is bestowed upon an Iowa State faculty, staff, or graduate student (individual or research group) that has made important and/or innovative contributions in research expanding understandings of gender and sexuality and issues of equity and social justice related to gender and sexuality.

W. Houston Dougharty Award

The W. Houston Dougharty Ally Award is bestowed upon an individual or group of individuals who have advocated on the behalf of LGBTQIA+ students with a social justice approach.  


Applications must be submitted using this form no later than 11:59 PM CDT on Friday, February 17, 2017.


LGBTSS: 515-294-5433 or

Margaret Sloss Women's Center: 515-294-4541 or